

CITY OF MONMOUTH COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES



Date: Monday, May 1, 2017 **Time:** 7:00 p.m. Location: 100 East Broadway

Monmouth, Illinois

I. CALL TO ORDER & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Rod Davies called the meeting to order in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 100 East Broadway at 7:00 p.m. and led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

II. ROLL CALL

City Clerk Susan S. Trevor called the roll and those answering **Present were**: Alderwoman Dawn Johnson, Aldermen Dave Rutledge, Alderwoman Susan Twomey, Brian Daw, Bob Wells, Dennis Willhardt, Dan Heatherly and Joe Clark **Also Present:** Mayor Rod Davies, City Administrator Lowell Crow, City Attorney Marcum Spears, City Clerk Susan S. Trevor, MFD Chief Casey Rexroat, MPD Chief Bill Feithen, Community Development Director Paul Schuytema, Woodard & Curran Public Works Director Andy Jackson and Andy Bell-Baltaci from the Review Atlas. **Absent:** Building and Zoning Director Wade Woodward

III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A. April 17, 2017 Council Meeting Minutes

It was moved by Alderwoman Johnson and seconded by Alderwoman Twomey to approve the April 17, 2017 minutes as presented. AYE: Alderwoman Johnson, Aldermen Rutledge, Alderwoman Twomey, Aldermen Daw, Wells, Willhardt, Heatherly and Clark NAY: none MOTION CARRIED.

IV. PRESENTATION TO THE COUNCIL

A. Presentations or Citizen Inquiries (All inquiries are limited to 3 minutes per City Ordinance)

1. Dave Schwab, Marketing Manager for Waste Management asked to address the Council to thank them for the privilege of serving the City of Monmouth for the past 15 years by providing curbside garbage pickup. He also wanted to point out two issues with the awarding of the curbside contract at the April 17th Council meeting. The first issue was with the low bidder actually being Jackson Disposal and the second issue was the non-awarding of the operation of the Transfer Station bid due to the City's concern with what they perceived as too high rates that Waste Management was going to charge. Mr. Schwab stated that rates were mentioned only with the reference that they would be negotiated between Waste Management and the City if they were awarded the contract to operate the Transfer Station. He then encouraged the next seated Council to set aside the contract award temporarily in order to have the responders come to a special meeting, a working session or have them attend the next Council meeting to explain their proposals and answer any questions that might be asked, strictly for no other reason than to clear the public record. Mr. Schwab closed with again thanking the Council on behalf of Waste Management for the privilege to be able to serve the City for the past 15 years.

B. Consent Agenda

1. Approval of Bills (Items on Consent Agenda will not be discussed unless a request is made to remove an item for discussion)

It was moved by Aldermen Heatherly and seconded by Alderman Rutledge to approve the Consent Agenda as presented for the approval of the bills with that being the only item on the Consent Agenda. AYE: Alderman Rutledge, Alderwoman Twomey, Aldermen Daw, Wells, Willhardt, Heatherly, Clark and Alderwoman Johnson NAY: none MOTION CARRIED.

2. Presentation of Plaques

Mayor Davies presented Plaques of Appreciation to outgoing Alderwoman Dawn Johnson and Alderman Dennis Willhardt and thanked them for their service to the City.

V. ADJOURNMENT

It was moved by Alderman Heatherly and seconded by Alderwoman Twomey to adjourn the meeting at 7:08 p.m. MOTION CARRIED by unanimous voice vote.

VI. SWEARING-IN of NEWLY ELECTED OFFICIALS – Judge Jim Standard

Judge Standard swore in the following Council members:

 1^{st} Ward Alderman Justin Thomas, 2^{nd} Ward Alderwoman Susan Twomey, 3^{rd} Ward Alderman Juan Pinedo and 4^{th} Ward Alderman Joe Clark

Judge Standard then swore in Susan S. Trevor as City Clerk and Rod Davies as Mayor of the City of Monmouth.

Mayor Rod Davies	City Clerk Susan S. Trevor